Home Contact Us


Club Charter

The 'Labrador Retriever Club of Long Island' is a kennel club based on and dedicated to preserve the integrity of the pure-breed Labrador Retriever.

As an organization we encourage and promote quality in the breeding of pure-bred Labrador Retrievers, and to do all possible to bring their natural qualities to perfection. We urge members and breeders to accept the standard of the breed as approved by The American Kennel Club. We conduct educational projects as specified by the club. We will do all in our power to protect and advance the interests of the breed by encouraging sportsmanlike competition at all dog matches, shows, and trials. We will do our part by conducting sanctioned and licensed specialty matches, shows, obedience, and field events under the rules of The American Kennel Club.


History

In 1979 local Labrador Retriever breeders from Long Island decided to form a breed club. These breeders included such kennel names as Lobuff, White Oak, Venetian, Aquarius, and Northwood, just to name a few. Though most of the early meeting records (1979-1990) are not available, the original constitution and by laws adopted by the club members is still in existence. We still have the guidance of two of the original members, one is the President of the club, and the other is on the board.


Officiers and Directors of the Labrador Retriever Club of Long Island

President: Michele McGroarty mmcGroarty@lrcli.org
Vice President: Marianne Cook mcook@lrcli.org
Treasurer: Emily Magnani emagnani@lrcli.org
Secretary: Bobby Cataldo bcataldo@lrcli.org
Director: Karen Maier kmaier@lrcli.org
Director: Jackie DeAngelo jdeangelo@lrcli.org
Director: Leslie Plank lplank@lrcli.org
Director: Carla H. Frederick cfrederick@lrcli.org
Director: Jessica Gore mcook@lrcli.org